Greetings CALYX readers!

First and foremost, I’d like to introduce myself. My name is Ann Grimm, and I am the new intern for CALYX. As a budding feminist with a background in journalism, CALYX will allow me to pursue my passion in feminist press.

I am finishing up my Journalism major and Women and Gender Studies minor at the University of Oregon (sorry Beaver fans). I believe that home is where the heart is, and for this gal it’s in the northwest. Despite spending my adolescent and awkward teenage years in Denville, New Jersey, my roots have always been grounded in Seattle where my family now resides.

In the last three and a half years at the University of Oregon, I have acquired a close-knit social circle thanks to my Delta Gamma sorority and intramural basketball memberships. I have found that my passion for women’s studies leads to many fervent discussions within these circles, which often leave my friends questioning the societal norms. Sometimes they are thankful I spark these conversations, and other times they find it outright annoying. Either way, I’ll never stop.

Much of this passion (along with my bookworm tendencies) is a large reason why I am so ecstatic to be interning with CALYX. Their mission embodies my core values by continuously publishing diverse literature from an array of women writers and artists. In doing this, CALYX provides readers and society a chance to recognize different abilities and viewpoints that would otherwise go unpublished and unnoticed.

And now, I get to be a part of it!

Ann Grimm

CALYX intern.

