Hello!

My name is Meghann, I’m the new summer intern here at CALYX. I’m very excited to be here, and can’t wait to be involved on a daily basis with such a wonderful non-profit. 🙂

A little bit about me:

I am an English major, Writing minor one term away from graduating. Reading and writing have always been one of the most important parts of my life, so after wandering around in various different majors for a couple years, I finally settled back home with other lovers of the literary world in the English department at Oregon State University.

I’m very excited to be working at CALYX this summer because it includes so many of the things that I love (among those, literature and feminism). I truly believe that there are many voices that wouldn’t be heard without journals like CALYX. As a representative of so many different types of women, it certainly plays an important role in the literary community, and I can’t wait to get involved.

Women’s voices in art and literature are so underrepresented, but incredibly unique and critical to a broad and varied understanding of the world. So often, it is a perspective that goes untouched by society, and I think it is the lesser for it. By making the effort to find and publish women’s work, CALYX is helping to get that diverse group of voices heard. Thank you CALYX, and thank you for letting me be a part of it!

