Hi there,

My name is Sophie and I am a French woman enjoying my own American Dream. I graduated from Southern Oregon University with a Master’s in Interdisciplinary Studies with concentrations in American and French Literatures. I just joined CALYX last week and it is already exciting!

What’s making it so great, you ask? Well,

-First, I’m so happy I finally made it here! I really wanted this internship but had to fight to have the immigration services give me my employment card on time. That was an emotional roller coaster as I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to stay in the US and fulfill my dreams.

-This internship allows me to experience two of the things I love the most: the English language and books.

-CALYX is inspiring! I got to meet women who, one day, chose to follow their hearts and do something positive for the community. Of course, that was not always easy, but their dedication to the cause was rewarded and the Calyx family is still growing.

-Actually, I joined just in time to witness the celebration of 35 years of success for CALYX! It is satisfying to know that so many women’s voices have been heard throughout the years.

-I have worked on various tasks already, and will go on experiencing the different facets of a publishing company in a friendly atmosphere. I have enjoyed all the things I’ve done so far.

-All right, I see you want a specific example, so here it is: although I just started my internship, I was already given manuscripts to read, along with copyediting guidelines in order to prepare for the copyediting meeting. So basically, this is what it means:

Sitting on a comfy chair + sipping hot chocolate + reading/reflecting on nice stories written by strong women

= gaining valuable professional experience.

-Now – and this is a very important point – I actually have evidence that studying literature DOES open doors, as long as you search for these. Seriously, back when I was in France, I used to hear a lot of: “What the hell are you going to do with this diploma if you don’t want to teach??” or “Oh, you’re studying literature? That won’t lead you anywhere!” Now that’s interesting because it sure led me 5260 miles away. I’m just saying.

Sure, I still have a long way to go, but I have the feeling that each step will be rewarding. It is indeed liberating to keep moving forward despite the fears and obstacles. I feel very lucky that I’m going to be part of the CALYX family for the next few months.

Until next time.

Sophie,

CALYX intern.

My views do not necessarily represent those of CALYX.

