Hey there CALYX supporters!

I’ve been an intern at CALYX for a bit more than a month now, and I thought it would be fun for me to share with you what I’ve been doing and what I’ve learned so far.

I have to say that one of my favorite activities is to open the mail, because there are always good surprises, and I really enjoy being the messenger who tells the staff about the donations we receive daily. These are always greatly appreciated, and I like to know that they do help a good cause. Since this is the first thing I do in the morning, my days at CALYX start on a very positive note. So, thank you donators!

Apart from this, my main activities revolve around helping to put together the next Journal issue – issue 26.3 that will be published next summer. I typed the selected poetry so that it can be formatted to fit the way it should appear in the Journal. I was also asked to take a close look at the prose and the book reviews as I was told I was going to participate in the copy edit meetings! I was really excited about this because this area is of particular interest to me. The CALYX team has been really helpful in handing me sheets covering lots of information, which I really needed because I was totally new to the conventions of copy editing. We had two copy edit meetings, and I loved being part of these. I am glad that I could share my views and I really appreciate to be given a chance to start learning from professionals. I know this will be a valuable experience that I will be able to use later on, wherever I end up going.

Another big project of mine is to set up readings to promote published authors and CALYX. I just started working on this, so I still am in the process of researching venues for the readings. I can already tell you that it is going to be an interesting experience because I’ve never done anything like this before.

See, that’s also what CALYX is about: introducing motivated people to a new realm of possibilities in a reassuring atmosphere. I’m really grateful to be part of such a team. Thanks to the support of these women, I never felt lost or scared because I knew I could ask them for guidance anytime I needed it. This is a major point, as I do not feel out of place like I have sometimes felt in the past on other internships. I’m talking about this uncomfortable feeling that interns sometimes get because they don’t really have a distinct place and are mostly in the way of staff members who, contrary to them, have clear positions –  a job title, an office, a well-defined role in the team. Well, here at CALYX, I do feel integrated, which is very important to me because I know that everything I do is meaningful. Thus, instead of simply being “there,” I am part of a whole, and this sense of connection with the community is definitely beneficial to me. Thank you CALYX!

Until next time,

Sophie,

CALYX intern.

My views do not necessarily represent those of CALYX.

