Hey there CALYX followers!

This is a very exciting time at CALYX. As I mentioned before, the summer issue is coming along just fine. I am following most of the steps of its creation. I have seen stories being returned or selected, and I have been part of the process that gradually gave the selected stories their final shape. I have had a great time copy editing and proofreading this journal; it really taught me to develop my attention to detail. It was also a good time for me to ask questions and understand why each editorial decision was made. This is a long process and we still have some proofreading to do.

Another thing I enjoyed was to see how the different stories, poems, and pieces of art were arranged together because it emphasized the connections between what all the authors were expressing. It was interesting to see all these separate pieces make a cohesive whole.

Of course, I was delighted to read my name on the masthead; it looked surreal and felt like an accomplishment at once. I spent many years wondering where I belonged and what I was going to do with my life, and I am glad to feel like I have found my way because the publishing world reconciles both my passion for reading and my love of the English language.

I hope you will love reading our summer issue as much as I am enjoying putting it together, but I’m not too worried about that…

Until next time,

Sophie

CALYX intern.

