Good mornoon, CALYX readers! (Making up words is a hobby of mine. Mornoon: n. When it seems too late to say “good morning,” but it is also not quite noon.)

My name is Marissa and I’m one of the most recent interns to join the independent collaborative movement that is CALYX. Originally from Central Oregon, I am honored to be here and happy to introduce myself! As a recent graduate of Oregon State University in English with a minor in writing, and having worked as a copy editor for the university newspaper, The Daily Barometer, being a part of a local press is my dream come true. I aspire to be an editor in publishing, and am grateful to CALYX for allowing me the opportunity to learn more about what that entails.

Reading and writing are my passions, so I consider myself a fortunate person to be doing exactly what I love, such as nerding out over semicolons and memorizing AP Style. In my past job experience I’ve been a writing center consultant, an editor of a parks and recreation guide, and a staff member of a college literary magazine. Writing on a professional level is as much a team effort as it is an individual effort, and I enjoy the process of helping others translate their ideas into print.

I’m proud to call myself a feminist because I enthusiastically support women’s equity and empowerment. This is an exciting, ever-evolving wave for women’s rights and I find myself challenging and thinking about feminist issues and debates every day. Providing women and the underrepresented a creative medium to express their thoughts and talents is deeply important to me. Several of my literary feminist inspirations include websites like The Mary Sue and The Frisky, books like Full-Frontal Feminism by Jessica Valenti, and authors like J.K. Rowling, Ursula K. Le Guin and Maggie Stiefvater.

Among the other great loves of my life: my wonderful fiancé and partner of five years, Patrick; alternative music, vegetarian cooking, impromptu dance parties, creating fine art, sipping fine coffees, and making new friends with fine people. What inspires or empowers you? I encourage you to seek it out and make it yours.

I am thrilled to begin my internship here at CALYX, Inc. to generate awareness of female authors and their works as well as hone my own editing skills. I look forward to sharing my journey with you!

