Hello one last time, CALYX followers,

Mara speaking! It’s my last day here in the CALYX office, and doesn’t that feel strange and sad to type? I can’t believe the summer has gone by so fast, but already I have to get back to Ohio next week to help put out the first issue of my school’s newspaper for the incoming freshmen.

My time in Corvallis has gone by fast, but I’m always going to remember interning for CALYX. I’ve learned a lot, from what a “blueline” is to the unexpected rewards of alphabetization by surname. I’ve also gotten my first taste of fiction editing, as the other interns and I have slogged through an impressive number of manuscripts during our current open submissions period. Plus just last week we had an office-wide copy-editing meeting for Who in This Room— which comes out October 11!– that was, at least to a geek like me, some of the most fun we’ve had all summer. Almost as good as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

The feeling of spending my days in an office full of smart, supportive, literate women is one that I’ll keep with me long after I’ve gone. I’m so proud that I got to be a part of something as important as CALYX and I know everything I did here, from photocopying hundreds of poems to calling independent bookstores around the U.S., helped out the important cause we’re trying to further.

Thanks for following along with me while I flooded your walls and feeds this summer, everyone– it’s been amazing.

Cheers,

Mara, still a CALYX intern for about four and a half hours longer

