Dear CALYX followers,

The end of my internship at CALYX has come, and it feels both strange and exciting to know that a new chapter of my life in the United States has begun. I would like to thank the amazing CALYX staff for the many opportunities they gave me. These women were the first people to introduce me to working in this country, and what a sweet introduction that was! I absolutely loved my time there. I was a bit scared on my first day, but I had no idea what a great experience it was going to be. I’m glad I decided to leave my fears behind and fulfill my dreams.

I’m really happy to have been allowed to stay with CALYX longer than planned, as it enabled me to stay in this country and learn more. During those seven months, I saw some great interns come and go, I saw Margarita and Beverly retire, and I saw Becky and Kelsey take on their new positions as senior editor and director.

I’m glad to realize how much more confident I feel now that I’ve had this experience with CALYX. I also know for sure that I would love to work with a publishing company. Thanks to this internship, I progressively approached different things and defined myself and my passions. It only makes me want to work as much as I will have to in order to reach my goals.

So, yes, CALYX was definitely a stepping stone for me. This internship taught me skills that I will be able to use in many different jobs. I learned about copy editing, proofreading, decision-making, handling manuscripts, and many other things. I now know how small independent presses work, and I have really enjoyed working with both the editors and the writers.

I’m now in Portland, where I started an internship with Hawthorne Books and Literary Arts, which is very exciting. I’m also an associate editor at The Portland Alliance, among other things. I’m still in the process of trying out new things and having fun doing it. Portland is definitely full of possibilities! But that doesn’t mean I’m leaving CALYX behind: I’m very thrilled to be a first reader now! This is great news since one of my favorite things to do is to read submissions. So, come on, amazing women writers, send us your poetry, prose, and art!

Thanks everyone,

Sophie,

CALYX intern: March-September 2011.

