Tags

, , , ,

936784_10100879797281106_84399969_n

Brenna Crotty

Hey, everyone! I’m really starting to dig this blog because it means I can apologize to you all in one big, sweeping statement instead of individually during irate email interactions.

Vol. 28-3 is still in the works. We’re 98% there, including proofing, but we hit a little snag when it came to art. We didn’t get as many submissions as we would have liked this summer, so we took a little extra time to reach out to artists we like (such as New York-based artist/activist Nona Faustine) and ask them submit to CALYX. I think that it’s going to be worth the extra few weeks of waiting, as we’ll have a really beautiful, politically-conscious art section this round.

I’m forever the Charlie Brown, optimistically expecting my deadlines to stay steady in front of me, but they always get yanked a little bit further away. This time I’m going to say that the issue will be ready for shipping by the end of the month, and I’m totally 100% sure I won’t have to eat those words. No, really this time.

To the authors and reviewers who submitted more than a year ago and have yet to see their work in print at CALYX: Sorry! I know it feels like Nixon was in office when you were accepted. But hot damn, I have to say that this is going to be a phenomenal issue. It features some really fascinating reflections on the nature of truth, aging, culture, and sexuality. It starts from a place of warm universality and ends on a poem that breaks my heart every time I read it. It is going to be so awesome, y’all.

TL;DR: Vol. 28-3 is almost ready for publication! I’ll announce when it’s about ready, ideally by the end of the month. (Also, send us your art submissions!)

