1234296_10201274515917264_142347076_n (1)

Olivia Awbrey

 

2016 is a big year for CALYX. Not only is Oregon State University receiving a mega grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to e-publish texts originally from CALYX, and not only is it the journal’s 40th ANNIVERSARY, but we are also launching our audio archive, Voices of CALYX! The name is still undergoing review, but whatever it’s going to be called, I’m very excited to start the series.

Over the past 3 months I’ve received more than 50 recordings of our authors reading their work in a live setting, with more pouring in each day. I’ve had the privilege of listening to these recordings for the first time, which has given me a sense of our authors’ wide array of talent and style and voice. The point of the project is to allow authors to lend their voices to their original work and read it the way they intended their piece to sound. Having read many of the poems prior to listening to them, I was often surprised – and pleasantly so – to find that how I originally imagined a poem or a short story to sound was quite different from what the author intended.

With the holidays right around the corner, and with many of us traveling and escaping the buzz of computers and the internet for the next few weeks, we’ve decided to start the series on January 1st, 2016. This gives me some extra time to finish up any audio touch-ups, make any last edits to your bio and answer sections, and also figure out a more pleasing aesthetic display of the archive. We’ll be releasing recordings one at a time in no specific order, but when your piece goes up you’ll be hearing from me!

I would also like to invite you all to send in a picture of yourself to be featured with your recording! If you decide you would like to do that, just send a .jpg to the same email you’ve been sending your recordings to.

This project has been so much fun, and I’m so happy with how it’s as turned out so far. Once it’s up in the new year, I invite you all to listen to your own piece, as well as the pieces of your fellow CALYX authors!

